What was your first dish?

Great first question - for me, probably scrambled eggs or a cheap boxed pizza kit, when I was a teen.

I think my first dish was a boiled egg but I'm not sure that counts! I was a dreadful cook when I was in my teens and early twenties. I mean really bad. I had no interest in it. However, that changed in my mid twenties when I met a man who was a good cook (mainly French) . He taught me basics and then I got addicted. I think possibly the first proper dish I cooked was chicken with garlic cloves. It was a 'trending' dish back in those heady days of the '70's: Chicken with 40 cloves of garlic. It stands the test of time. Here is an analysis of that recipe:

How to cook the perfect chicken with 40 cloves of garlic – recipe | Felicity Cloake

I honestly don't know. I do remember my sister and I making tapioca pudding from scratch, from a recipe, with no parental assistance. I would have been about 8, and my sister 10 at that time. It was actually very good.

CD

I think my first dish was a boiled egg but I'm not sure that counts! I was a dreadful cook when I was in my teens and early twenties. I mean really bad. I had no interest in it. However, that changed in my mid twenties when I met a man who was a good cook (mainly French) . He taught me basics and then I got addicted. I think possibly the first proper dish I cooked was chicken with garlic cloves. It was a 'trending' dish back in those heady days of the '70's: Chicken with 40 cloves of garlic. It stands the test of time. Here is an analysis of that recipe:

How to cook the perfect chicken with 40 cloves of garlic – recipe | Felicity Cloake

That reminds me of when I first cooked with garlic. 1971, I think. I thought a clove was the entire head.

That reminds me of when I first cooked with garlic. 1971, I think. I thought a clove was the entire head.