Who has green fingers?

Morning Glory

Obsessive cook
Staff member
Local time
4:01 PM
greenfingers_innerbig.jpg

Its going to be Spring for many of us soon (can't wait!). Will you be growing your own vegetables, fruit or herbs? To be honest, I hate gardening and the most I can manage is a few potted herbs and even they seem to die. Are you green-fingered or are you like me? Do you plan to grow anything in 2017?

Last edited:
Wish we could but the water bill would be sky high.
That is something I hadn't considered. I'm on metered water here but the bills are really low so I don't consider it. I guess there might be things that would grow without too much water - but I'm no expert. Perhaps @SatNavSaysStraightOn would know.

Something like rosemary (this and sage are the only two herbs I have surviving) seems to deal with severe cold and severe heat.

That is something I hadn't considered. I'm on metered water here but the bills are really low so I don't consider it. I guess there might be things that would grow without too much water - but I'm no expert. Perhaps @SatNavSaysStraightOn would know.

Something like rosemary (this and sage are the only two herbs I have surviving) seems to deal with severe cold and severe heat.
If we got rain that would be a help. Some years we get lots of rain and other years we don't.
You know you hear about the droughts that last for a few weeks in California.
Well Texas went 2 years without any moisture whatsoever and the National media never said a word.
We had millions of acres burn and lost several lakes.
Heck on that note, a deserted city was found under one lake. And another lake solved 8 missing person reports dating back to the 60's. The lakes starting drying up and things and people were found.
The 8 people were found still in their cars. They had missed a turn at night and driven into the lake.