Air Fryers and Panko: got any tips?

FowlersFreeTime

Local time
8:53 PM
Website
www.fowlersfreetime.com
Hello!
So I'm not an expert on this thing yet, wife got an air fryer a few years back and I largely ignored it. However recently I have been trying to use it more, and I specifically want to learn how to make better battered or breadcrumb coated foods instead of deep frying them.
Here is what I am talking about:
20210310_195752.jpg

This is a Pork Katsu I made last month, but it doesn't look like the authentic, deep-fried, version. I used spray oil and cooked it at 360 degrees for 10 minutes on each side. I also tried less time at 400, but the edges were a bit burnt while the panko on the flat sides was similarly inconsistent in color. The cutlet is still cooked through, but how does one get a uniform golden color from an air fryer?

The cutlet is still cooked through, but how does one get a uniform golden color from an air fryer?

I think its simply a problem with air fryers. Its never going to cook the coating as evenly as a fast deep fry. I use a halogen cooker which is similar to an air fryer and have the same issue. Maybe those really expensive models are better at it (mine is not an expensive one). Which air fryer are you using?

I am on my second Philips Air Fryer and I think it's one of the greatest kitchen inventions of recent times. Air Fryers are really, really awesome for certain things cooked in healthy way and sometimes indistinguishable from deep fried.

Breadcrumbed or battered items are not those things.

You might experiment with coating the items in oil in order to simulate the uniform golden-brown colouring but then you'll presumably be defeating the purpose of using the AF to reduce the amount of oil you consume.