America - Where have you been and what do you think?

SandwichShortOfAPicnic

Über Member
Local time
7:53 PM
Some may be aware I’m planning a trip to AMERICA 🇺🇸 👏

This involves things I have no first hand experience of. I’ve already encountered things that left me thinking waaa? 😄
I’ll post bits and pieces as things develop and eventually pics from the trip here.

Where have you you been? What did you enjoy? What would you rather avoid? Where do you still desire to visit?

TastyReuben would you mind moving kaneohegirlinaz post with the link to NPS annual pass from the ‘Travel Plans’ for 2024’ thread to here?
¡Muchas Gracias!

I went to Houston for a day.

But I also went to Sydney for the day.

Both from Manchester.

First time I went to the USA was in 1973, on a musical tour of the country. We performed in NY, New Jersey, Conneticut, Pennsylvania, Ohio, Michigan, Wisconsin, Indiana, Illinois (Chicago), Iowa, Minneapolis, Missouri, West Virginia, Washington DC and finally, the Carnegie Hall. Travelled by greyhound bus, so we saw all the countryside, and it was autumn, so some of the landscapes were just mind-blowing. We never spent much time anywhere, but I do recall the incredibly beautiful places like Ann Arbor, Michigan, Charleston W. Virginia and Madison, Wisconsin.
When I worked for Corporate, our destinations were usually New York and Miami, and we rarely got to see anything other than the inside of a hotel, but I did get to see lots of The Big Apple at the weekends, when I wasn't in Great Falls, W Virginia.
In the past few years it's only been Cincinnati, Ohio and Kentucky - but I'm really happy there. Lovely people, beautiful landscapes, wonderful places to visit.
The only place I wouldn't return to is Miami. ' orrible!