Budget?

asaaaron

Veteran
Local time
3:16 AM
I want to eat well, but I'm on a pretty tight budget. I'm a student in college full time and any money I get comes from my parents. Are there any ways that I could still eat relatively well on little money? I mean, I don't want filet mignon or anything, but I'd like to know how to avoid eating ramen every night, you know? Any advice helps!

I'm on a similar situation. I'm not a college student and don't get my money from my parents... I work full time and sustain myself on my own... however I have been on a very tight budget since the beginning of the year. I'm on a carb free diet, so I have not been eating too much. What I usually eat is eggs and chicken (which are cheaper than fish and beef), and also milk and whatever veggies I find for a good price.... I am lucky to have a restaurant where I work, so at lunch I will eat there (I'll usually only have some milk and maybe cheese for breakfast), and for dinner I'll have boiled eggs usually, maybe some salad when I buy it. I'm aware it's not a good diet and I will soon need to start eating better, but January and February were pretty hard on my bank account. But yes, I would advise you to try to go for stuff that are cheaper and will last you longer. You could try an egg sandwich (bread and eggs are cheap), tomatoes tend to have decent prices, pasta is also on the cheaper side. Regular milk has many of the nutrients you have in a day and it's affordable, and there are some more affordable fruits. I would stay away from frozen foods and canned foods, as those aren't so cheap, don't contain so many nutrients and last for only one meal or two.

I am also on a tight budget. I eat a lot of soups and beans. There's a farmers market near when I can buy beans in bulk. Bean soups can be tasty if you season them right. The soup is also filing. Add tomato sauce and chili seasonings to turn the soup into a chili. I also eat a lentils. They go a long way too.