Bulk cooking - any success stories?

Shamde

Veteran
Local time
12:24 AM
Hah, that title sounds kind of strange, but basically, I'm wondering what peoples experiences are with trying to cook in bulk. I want to try it myself, but might need to get a second freeze or fridge first.

Bulk cooking is an excellent alternative for busy people.

As a college student, I cooked most of my meals on Saturday. This way, I had nutritious, affordable food throughout the week. The trick is to purchase an array of containers for storage. Also, you want to predetermine what freezes well. See: Freezer Meals

freezerfoods.jpg

I also freeze a lot of meals. I like to make a big pot of chili or vegetable soup and freeze what we don't eat. Then on a cold day, I can pull the frozen soup out of the freezer and heat it up. Dinner's ready, quick fast and easy!

I cook in bulk for my sick aunt. My uncle doesn't really know how to cook so I cook for her every week and freeze, freeze, freeze. My uncle will defrost things in advance, but a lot of storage containers and labeling each container really helps out.

I would cook in bulk a lot more if I'd have more storage place. Sharing a fridge with and a small freezer with a roommate is not the ideal solution for bulk cooking. However I always cook enough for at least two meals and then put half in the fridge for the next day.

I'm a failure at bulking because I don't care for leftovers. I'm really picky about leftovers so there are some things (well a lot of things) I won't eat on a second day. Very picky. The only foods I really eat for leftovers are pastas. Yeah, I know, right?

I'm a failure at bulking because I don't care for leftovers. I'm really picky about leftovers so there are some things (well a lot of things) I won't eat on a second day. Very picky. The only foods I really eat for leftovers are pastas. Yeah, I know, right?