Do you use a recipe or just wing it?

Momma9

Veteran
Local time
5:34 PM
I rarely use recipes for dinnerish foods. (Ha, is that even a word?). I have a good understanding of what ingredient does what and am able to make what I desire. I do see recipes online and in cookbooks that inspire me to try new combinations.

When it comes to baking, I will try a recipe and see how it is. Generally I end up making my own variation based on ingredients and outcomes my family likes best.

How do you feel about recipes? To you follow them, change them, or not use them at all?

I do not use recipes that often except I want to make something new and different that I have never tried before. Even when using recipes, however, I would change up the ingredients and method a bit, but still stick closely to the original recipe. I think recipes for baking should be more exact than those for making actual dinners.

We all know that there is more than one way to cook any dish, and each person will have their own preference.

Both but even with recipes I almost always add something or improvise if that's the better word. The only time I have stuck to a recipe is in baking which I am no pro at. Still I try a little something every now and again.

I used to wing it. but I like to try new things and so started using recipes. also everyone was asking me for recipes for the food they were eating, and I didn't have them. A lot of them were handed down from my grandmother to my mom then to us. so I started writing down the approximate amounts and such for all of our (wing it meals) I don't use a recipe when making them but do have them written out for others.