Dollar Store Ingredients

Local time
4:39 PM
What does everyone think about cooking ingredients at dollar stores? I have seen off brands that just looked a little iffy to me and stayed away. But I don't know if that's fair or not. They are definitely cheaper and if the expiration date is fine then I don't know what's bothering me. What does everyone else think?

I don't like to purchase any food from the Dollar Tree, 99Cent Only Stores or anything like them. I imagine that they are made of the lowest quality, full of preservatives and GMO ingredients.

I recently visited my friend on vacation. Her pantry was full of food from these types of stores. I just couldn't bring myself to eat any of her food. Fortunately, I am a much better cook than her so I made dinner for us. Unfortunately, I had to travel quite a distance to get to a grocery store that I like.

I don't mind them at all. You can save a lot of money just by buying some of your grocery list at these stores vs. the big chain grocery stores. Many of the products are the same brands as a matter of fact, but even the off brand products are often fine depending on what you get. If you're buying condiments for example, such as ketchup and mustard and pickles, those would easily cost $3-$4 a piece at a grocery store, and you can get them for $1 each at the discount stores. That's saving several bucks right there without even needing any coupons or waiting for something to go on sale. I just picked up several jars of pasta sauce for 89 cents each at local discount grocery store, those would normally be about $5 a piece at other grocery stores. Some of them also have good quality spices for $1 each, instead of paying $4-$5 for McCormick brand stuff.

I imagine that they are made of the lowest quality, full of preservatives and GMO ingredients.

This is the real problem with dollar stores, or low-price brands, it's not about quality of the products but IMAGINATION.