Fried Coconut?

SatNavSaysStraightOn

Staff member
Local time
1:10 AM
Website
www.satnavsaysstraighton.com
Has anyone else ever fried coconut? It's a first for me and I'm not certain that I did it correctly? Or more to the point does the coconut change when you fry it? I have never tried fried coconut before to the best of my knowledge so am at a little bit of a loss to know if it changes from crunchy to something else when cooked.

The Indian dal recipe (a Bengali one) said to chop the fresh coconut into 5mm dice like croutons and the fried them until lightly browned before draining and then later adding to the spicy dal mixture. They are still like raw coconut on the inside and I don't know if they are meant to be.

Well, most coconut dhal recipes call for coconut milk. But I think, in the dim and distant past I did once come across a recipe for using fresh fried coconut. My recollection is that it was either to be flaked or cut into very small pieces, so that that it went crispy brown. I think maybe you should have cut it into finer dice or used a vegetable peeler or mandolin to produce flakes. My gut feeling is that the coconut is for crunch and texture but not a chunky ingredient.