Frosting Save: Ran Out Of Confectionate Sugar

Sherry

Veteran
Local time
4:42 AM
I decided to bake a strawberry cake (boxed this time) with a cream cheese frosting this morning to go with my New Year's day meal of corned beef and cabbage with cornbread. As I was making the frosting I realized I was about two cups short of the amount of confectionate sugar necessary. Living pretty far out, I really didn't want to jump in the truck and head into town, so I decided to try putting a cup or so of regular sugar in my blender and trying that.
It worked fairly well. While not quite what I would call powdered, the blender ground the sugar fine enough to finish my frosting and it turned out really nice.

That sounds like a great innovation on your part. I have heard in the past that you could make a powder sugar substitute by blending it, but I have never tried it before. What was the consistancy of the sugar when you were done with it?

I have seen it done by a tv chef one time.it does work remarkably well as you can grind the sugar s fine as you want

Hi welsh dragon and Rosyrain.
That's the first time I've tried the sugar in the blender trick. I imagine it has been used a number of times before by others, though I'd never heard of it. At least not that I can remember.
I will definitely be doing it again.
The consistency when I called it quits on the blending and put it into my frosting was very fine. It was, as I said, not quite what I would call powdered but definitely very fine. I'm sure I could have gotten it finer still, but it seemed alright to me when I used it and did the job quite well.
I'm still trying to come up with how to describe the consistency.
Do you know how powdered sugar, though certainly not wet, has a kind of moistness to it? It feels just a little bit slick and silky where the sugar I ground felt drier than the regular powdered sugar. Dusty, sort of; and just the tiniest bit grainy.