Microwave Blues

firelily99

Veteran
Local time
9:04 AM
I am staying with a friend who is having their kitchen refurbished which means the only thing we have to cook with is the microwave. Yuck! I am not an expert with nuking food so I was wondering if anyone had any ideas for healthy cooking recipes using only a microwave.

well... you can basically cook most things in the microwave. They will most definitely not taste as good as they would normally, but if you've got nothing else then you've got nothing else. What I would recommend is getting one of those tiny electric stoves that you can just plug into the wall, they are cheap and serve their purpose.

Hm. I don't use my microwave for anything but re-heating. (My husband cooks grits in there, but I can't stand that method.)

Did your friend think in advance and get anything cooked that just needs to be reheated? If not, I'd probably head to the pre-cooked section of the grocery store deli and get those ready to make meals. I'm not talking about the stuff in the freezer section (that is expensive and kind of gross), but the store-brand pre-prepared meals. Most of them are pretty good around here anyway, and you could always grab a chicken or something at the deli that is already cooked and warm.

Otherwise, canned soup? Sandwiches? Salads....

• Anything that needs boiling can be cooked in a microwave, from rice to peas to pasta etc. So there should be plenty of meals you can cook (pasta with tomato sauce & bacon added if you want) to dedicated microwave ready meals (hate the things myself but it will give you options).
  • Jacket potatoes can easily be done in a microwave, though I'm not a great fan of them done that way, but with baked beans and/or melted cheese you have a meal to serve with salad.
  • Rice can also easily be cooked in a microwave, my step-father actually prefers this method for some reason, but I have noticed it takes a touch longer. Just do what you would normally for boiling it in a pan.