School Lunches from around the World

cupcakechef

Veteran
Local time
1:44 PM
Japan (expat by way of Australia and USA)
http://www.huhmagazine.co.uk/8725/what-school-lunches-look-like-all-around-the-world

I thought this article was really interesting!

It seems a lot of school-aged kids around the world get lunch provided for them, and this showcased a few different offerings from various countries.

Do any of them appeal to you more than others?

I think if I was choosing one, I'd pick the offerings from either Brazil or Greece based on the pictures!

Over here, schools used to be tasked with the food of the students particularly the grade school. I grew up on that since I studied in a private school. But due to the issues of sanitation and hygience, add to that the issue of nutrition, schools have stopped serving compulsory lunches in their canteen although they still serve for students on a voluntary basis. In fairness to schools, the cost of the food is cheap although not really that delicious, hahahaaa.

In my area now all schools at primary have to provide a hot meal again ,which is great because most ripped their kitchens out years ago..
even though secondary schools are on a health run ,most of the kids are in such a hurry they forget this!

Lunches from Ukraine, Spain, France, and Finland appeal to me. I enjoy a variety of foods, and am usually amenable to trying new things, as long as they're not pets, rodents, insects, etc. Standard foods are much more appealing than things like that.