Soft Food Help Neded

lizzief79

Veteran
Local time
12:26 PM
This is a slightly bizarre thread to post on a food forum but I am hoping you can help. I have recently had all my teeth extracted following a medical problem during pregnancy. I cannot have new teeth until my gums have shrunk and my body has got rid of the unnecessary bone socket. I am really big on eating good food, love cooking, used to be a chef and have four children I try to cook healthy, balanced and tasty meals for. I am managing more food than I thought I would as I presumed I would be restricted to soup. Other meals I have managed to eat are bolognaise, lasagne, chilli con carne, moussaka and vegetable curry. I hope I am giving some impression of the type of thing I can eat at the moment. I am struggling with big chunks of meat and vegetables cooked al dente (which is how I prefer them). I am a very able cook and willing to try new ideas. Has anybody on here got some good suggestions of softer food, not pureed, that I might be able to make and eat?

Ooh, I just made a topic on different sorts of flour dumplings, just because I like flour dumplings, but I imagine they'd be good to eat for people with mouth problems.

Whenever I've got a cold sore or something, I take to Asian street food which is usually seafood-flavored balls of starch that are deep-fried. There's squid-flavored starchy balls, fish-flavored starchy balls, and I think takoyaki is octopus.

Rice porridges and puddings can also be pretty hearty. I get them to the consistency of oatmeal (which might not be all that descriptive, because I generally like my oatmeal pretty thick).

If you can manage lasagne, then maybe a soft tortilla wrap filled with stuff you'd usually put in a taco: beef, coleslaw, and cheese.

There's also noodle soups.

Although these aren't particularly nourishing: gelatine, caramel flan, ice cream.