The Anova Precision Oven?

Mountain Cat

Veteran
Local time
4:54 PM
Website
goatsandgreens.wordpress.com
Anova Precision Oven.

I am (probably not very) considering this oven – this is from the Sous Vide folk who have helped those of us who were/are interested in that to do just that. Now they have an oven that, under the right settings, will sous vide your steak or pork tenderloin, and various veggies for you – without the water bath annoyance.

It costs $600 US, and they are right now for a very brief period of time, having a half-price sale – so I am not sure this means next week it will be $1200, or something. Or, if I purchase this weekend, i would only spend $300?? Since it takes up a LOT of counter space I want to know more about how good it is, and whether it can also fill the functions of my toaster oven (ie, toasting things nicely) before ditching that last appliance to make room for this one.

Plus, I am not really good at being an Early Adaptor for new technology of the expensive sort. I'd prefer the bugs, ahem, features, to be worked out. (Yes, I did get my first computer in 1984, no Orwellian references intended there…)

To sous vide food, this implement uses steam technology – I guess you fill a basin with water, and let ‘er rip. You can also use more conventional modes of cooking, too.

Here are a couple of links:

Anova Precision Oven | Anova Culinary

Anova Precision Oven Review: A Steam-Powered Kitchen Dream | WIRED

Wired’s review. They liked this, but pointed up some bugs. I do like they noted they didn’t need to run the oven over the internet or a cell phone. There is that option, but I will NEVER purchase something that mandates that nonsense. Sorry, Joule.