Were You Trained or Did You Self Learn To Cook (Poll)

Were You Trained or Did You Self Learn To Cook

• Total voters

flyinglentris

Disabled and Retired Veteran
Local time
9:55 PM
If you were trained, what as? - a chef, short order cook, saucier, etc.

If you were trained, how do you feel about those who claim to be self-learned?

I am self-learned and never took any training in the culinary arts. I figure I do all right and there is nobody to cook for me, so I must do it myself.

At CookingBites, I am grateful to have the professionals share their talents via their threads and posts. They are truly, enlightening and I have learned much from being a CB member.

Always been interested in cooking, I even tried to get an apprenticeship with nz army. But the principal of my high school was tied up with terratorials ( weekend army)
He got me turned down. Even bragged about it at high school.
Anywho I changed my career.
Then self taught right up til now. I Will try time after time until I get my recipes right. I've learnt quite a lot on this board and others.

Russ

Self-taught, though I have attended several classes, though most of those were more demo than hands-on.

No one in my family, not even my mom or my grandmom, ever stood next to me and said, "First do this, now do that..."

Thank god for cookbooks, TV cooking shows, and eventually, the internet. 🙏

Always been interested in cooking, I even tried to get an apprenticeship with nz army. But the principal of my high school was tied up with terratorials ( weekend army)
He got me turned down. Even bragged about it at high school.
Anywho I changed my career.
Then self taught right up til now. I Will try time after time until I get my recipes right. I've learnt quite a lot on this board and others.

Russ