Were You Trained or Did You Self Learn To Cook (Poll)

Were You Trained or Did You Self Learn To Cook

• Total voters
There's an option missing. I learnt to cook from my dear old mum and thereafter my first wife. Not really self taught but neither was I "trained".

I've added 'Taught By Parents or Spouse'.

I like the way one of the cooks on ATK defined it (paraphrasing): "If I'm in charge of the kitchen, I'm the chef. If someone else is in charge, I'm a cook. At home, I'm the chef, but here (meaning the studio kitchen) I'm a cook."
Yes, I can also relate to that. Chef, in French, is THE BOSS. So if you´re totally in charge of everything which goes on in the kitchen, then I suppose you´re the chef.
When I started cooking seriously ( and doing the occasional event, or course) people used to call me "Chef"; and I corrected them.
After about 20 events/courses, i just gave up, because I´m a cook. I´ve done 4 or 5 big events where i was billed as "Executive Chef", and to be honest, it made me giggle.
Why? Because my younger brother really was an executive chef, managing up to 800 people a day. I stood there and watched him once. No bloody way could I ever do that!

Yes, I can also relate to that. Chef, in French, is THE BOSS. So if you´re totally in charge of everything which goes on in the kitchen, then I suppose you´re the chef.
When I started cooking seriously ( and doing the occasional event, or course) people used to call me "Chef"; and I corrected them.
After about 20 events/courses, i just gave up, because I´m a cook. I´ve done 4 or 5 big events where i was billed as "Executive Chef", and to be honest, it made me giggle.
Why? Because my younger brother really was an executive chef, managing up to 800 people a day. I stood there and watched him once. No bloody way could I ever do that!