What's the easiest thing to cook?

HornedDemoN

Veteran
Local time
2:14 PM
I'm a terrible cook, but I'm trying to learn, because there are just too many benefits to being able to prepare your own food.

Off the top of my head, the easiest things to cook would be spaghetti and boiled/fried eggs. Or perhaps bread with something on it, but now we're entering "that's just pathetic" territory.

Any other really, really, really easy meals that can be prepared with minimum effort and taste good?

Yeah, I'm not sure if beans on toast really counts as "cooking"!

Eggs are always a great place to start - boiled eggs are particularly easy - and they can be cooked in a variety of ways. Spaghetti sauce is fairly easy but it can be time-consuming too. Chicken is also really easy to cook. Get the breasts, coat in sauce and wrap in foil. Place in pre-heated oven for half an hour and that's it.

scrambled eggs?
fried egg?
omelette is not really difficult, mix the eggs, add the frying pan and under cook the eggs, fold in half and serve. Of course you need a non-stick pan for a beginner and a medium heat not a high heat.

Peas Risotto - (chop onion roughly, fry in a little oil until cooked, add the rice (any quantity as per how many people eating it) fry for a moment, add the stock - chicken, veg,etc, mix with onion, put lid on frying pan or pan, simmer until 5 mins before rice is cooked, add the peas - frozen are best, add the 1tbsp chopped oregano (or dried if necessary - 1tsp), ensure a touch of liquid remains, mix, cover with lid again, get some grated cheese ready, serve when cooked, sprinkle with grated cheese.