Would you want to own a Restaurant?

I feel like cooking for a living would take all the enjoyment out of it. Suddenly it's all stress and trying to please everyone instead of "hey guys come over for dinner".

:) You make a valid point but for some it's the pleasure of seeing people actually enjoy something they have a hand in preparing and getting paid for it. There is a customer who used to own a restaurant and still talks about the joy she got from hearing all the great comments about her dishes. She confesses it was hard work but she got real satisfaction from it.She is well along in years and her face lights up when she starts to talk about it. Hers is a story I like to tell.

:) You make a valid point but for some it's the pleasure of seeing people actually enjoy something they have a hand in preparing and getting paid for it. There is a customer who used to own a restaurant and still talks about the joy she got from hearing all the great comments about her dishes. She confesses it was hard work but she got real satisfaction from it.She is well along in years and her face lights up when she starts to talk about it. Hers is a story I like to tell.
That makes total sense, and I agree that it would be really satisfying to see people enjoy the food you make, but I just feel like there are too many people in the world who would complain and similar. I'm a bit of a cynic I guess, but I feel like you'd end up cooking twenty hamburgers or steaks a day and not get to do the fun and creative dishes very often.

You could say it's always been a dream of mine. I like the farm to table concept restaurants more than those restauranteur-ran types. We have a farm in my city and I plan to grow some lettuces and basil for the restaurant. I like a good Italian brickoven kind of restaurant that's very affordable and relaxed. There would be a lot of neutral colors, greens, wood and simple cutlery.