Burgers......ugh!

zuludog

Veteran
Local time
1:30 AM
I like to think that I'm a reasonable cook, but I live on my own, and sometimes I just get tired of thinking and preparing food from scratch, so yesterday I bought some beefburgers

I was in one of the top 4 supermarkets and bought some of their upmarket beefburgers; minced steak, caramelised onions, and all the rest of the marketing blurb
Had them last night and they were, well, burgers - greasy, bits of gristle, and they left loads of fat in the frying pan
This morning the place smelled of stale fat, even though I'd cleaned the frying pan afterwards

So I Searched YouTube and found recipes for veggie burgers which I thought were OK, but not wonderful, though I didn't look at them all, and I haven't tried any yet
I also found recipes for stir - fried cabbage, so I'll probably try that
I probably won't go completely vegetarian, but I'm cutting down on meat and I think I'll definitely stop buying beefburgers

Why didn't I grill the burgers? Well my grill isn't very good, and I have to ask if it's worth buying a new cooker, just to get a decent grill

Its easy enough to make your own burgers if you want to eat meaty ones - just get some good quality minced beef - add whatever seasoning you wish and shape into burgers by hand. I think a few of us here make our own...

We make our own - very nice too. No need to go to the trouble of vegetarian imitations, pick your mince [not too lean - or add a little suet] season to choice and [important] pick a good bread-bun. Almost as quick to do as opening the packet of ready made ones.

I make my own with carrots in as well as mince, onions, one egg, and very little else - one of the first recipes I ever posted, and it won the Cooking Bites Recipe Challenge

https://www.cookingbites.com/threads/beefburgers.7169/#post-50170

The only burgers I ever buy are from Riverford who do their own small range of veggie burgers.