Hello from the Midwest

TastyReuben

Nosh 'n' Splosh
Staff member
Local time
11:44 PM
Hello - I'm in the US (Midwest), enjoy cooking for my wife and myself, and feel pretty at home in the kitchen.

I like to make a lot of comfort foods, and especially enjoy making soups and stews in the cold months. I make a lot of pizza year round.

My favorite cuisine is probably Italian, the wife likes a lot of Bavarian things best, and I don't like seafood at all.

I also like putting together specialty menus for picnics and afternoon teas. Fondue is another favorite in our house.

Other interests: apart from my day job, I'm also a musician, and we both like to travel (the misses is a travel consultant).

Welcome to CookingBites @TastyReuben. :welcome: We aim to be a friendly forum and love new members to get involved, so please join in wherever you like.
You can tell us what you cooked or ate today in our regular thread: What did you cook or eat today (July 2019)? And we also have some challenges running.
See here: The Current CookingBites Challenges. The current recipe challenge closes on Wednesday but there will be a new one shortly after that.

You are not the only lover of Italian food here! In fact, we have a regular Italian member (@MypinchofItaly) who is an excellent cook. Bavarian sounds as if it might be interesting - I'm not sure I know much about that.

Thanks, all!

I should qualify those cuisines by saying Italian(-American) and German(-American), just considering where I'm from. :)

So I make a lot of pizzas (different styles), a lot of pasta dishes, and favorite German-inspired items would be lots of different sausages and potatoes, lots of pork and sauerkraut, etc. Tonight, it's set to be kielbasa, egg noodles, and mashed potatoes.

Thanks, all!

I should qualify those cuisines by saying Italian(-American) and German(-American), just considering where I'm from. :)