What's your favorite appetizer to make?

MyExWasAChef

Veteran
Local time
11:25 PM
When I'm at home and I have some guests I just bring out some chips and a dip I made overnight. Sometimes I make cucumber sandwiches when bread is available. I know some of these sound like snacks but add something fresh like parsley or basil that you have in the garden. Add spice to spice old classics up! I also do pigs in a blanket when my nephews come for a visit. :)

I'm not really good at appetizers but the most popular appetizers we had prepared is nacho with dips. We would cooked ground beef - sauteed with margarine - that we would mix with the cheese dip in the can. And before serving, we run it in the microwave for 30 seconds. Guests love it and some would devour as if a meal will not be served anymore. And the party will not be over until someone would ask the recipe of the dip. They are always suprised to know that the cheese was the commercial dip in the can.

My appetizers are usually chip and dip or nachos. I also do vegetable and fruit trays with dips. Spinach dip with pita chips is always a hit.

When I go out to a restaurant, my favourite appetizer is soup which is usually what is served most of the time. However, if I am having guests at home for dinner, the only appetizer I would use would be a drink of some sort, if that can be called an appetizer. Before the actual dinner is ready, the guests can sit around and chat while having a drink of their choice. It is usually the same if I go to a home for lunch or dinner. The host would usually offer drinks prior to the dinner being served.

My favorite thing to make as an appetizer is a mezze platter! Dips, flatbread, olives, meats, cherry tomatoes - a whole mix of goodies like that! I think platters make good appetizers because there's basically something that will suit everyone on there.