First attempt: sticky chicken wings

Morning Glory

Obsessive cook
Staff member
Local time
5:24 PM
Chicken wings aren't any where near as popular here in the UK as they are in the US. In fact I don't think many supermarkets stocked them until fairly recently. They are a bargain though! The five quite large wings in the photo cost just £1.

This is my first attempt at cooking wings. As you can see they are a bit burnt especially the wing tips. I note some recipes suggest cutting off the wing tips and discarding.

Do you have any tips about how to cook sticky chicken wings? Should I cut off the tips? What oven temperature is best?

20240526_181744.jpg

Chicken wings aren't any where near as popular here in the UK as they are in the US. In fact I don't think many supermarkets stocked them until fairly recently. They are a bargain though! The five quite large wings in the photo cost just £1.

This is my first attempt at cooking wings. As you can see they are a bit burnt especially the wing tips. I note some recipes suggest cutting off the wing tips and discarding.

Do you have any tips about how to cook sticky chicken wings? Should I cut off the tips? What oven temperature is best?

View attachment 114011
First, those are beautiful. Simply gorgeous.

Second, to answer your question about the tips - if you’re going for American-style bar wings (aka hot wings, Buffalo wings, etc), you’d want to not only cut off the tips, but also cut them at the other joint as well, into flats and drummies.

1716750173927.png

The Kitchn

First, those are beautiful. Simply gorgeous.

Second, to answer your question about the tips - if you’re going for American-style bar wings (aka hot wings, Buffalo wings, etc), you’d want to not only cut off the tips, but also cut them at the other joint as well, into flats and drummies.

View attachment 114012
The Kitchn