Herb Garden

Local time
6:58 AM
I very much want to start an herb garden next spring. I've never done it before and I'm not the most "green thumb" guy ever. I'm going to google some information about it, but I'm curious as to any "tricks of the trade" you may be aware of out there. I'd also like to know how much I'm going to be able to grow? How can I easily dry and store it? What's the best herb to start with?

I've never done this but it shouldn't be that hard. A friend has a few different types (sorry, don't know the names in English) growing in a flower pot right next to her outside table. It's great when you can just snap a leaf or two and add it to your food right before eating.

How big is the area you are planning to use for the herb garden? Can you describe the type of soil? Sandy, clay, peaty etc is the patch in full sun, part sun or full shade? Are you planning on trying with seeds or potted plants that you then plant out? what herbs do you usually use and what are your favorites and finally where are you in what country - this will affect what you can grow?

Sorry to bombard you with questions but we can be of more help if we have a few more details.

Well, I am in the Eastern Arkansas delta region. The patch of land is in a developed subdivision and I've just moved there as of late this summer so I've not dug up any dirt to see what it looks like yet. I should definitely do that. As for the land I want to use, preferably, it would be a patch in the back of the house wedged up against the back porch, but I don't think it's going to get full sun. Is there anything that can grow well with less sun? I'd like to grow some garlic, oregano and parsley for sure.

OK - from my experience