Tofu

Rosyrain

Veteran
Local time
6:57 AM
Tofu is a very popular food substance, especially for vegetarians. I have never tried it before, nor have I ever even touched it. From what I understand, it is a soy bean based product. What does it taste like, and what is the texture of it when you eat it?

Well Tofu is essentially tasteless. It comes in soft, firm and semi soft versions. Since it is bland it generally takes on the flavors of anything around it. I like to use Tofu ocassionally in a stir fry as it adds protein and is extremely low calorie. Just make sure you drain it very well, or you will have a panful of liquid. It has a very high water content.

To be honest it really doesn't taste of anything much. You wouldn't want to eat it on its own. I sometimes snack on it by cutting into cubes and tossing in soy sauce and chilli sauce. Its main use is to soak up other flavours. You can get smoked tofu, though, which does taste...well, smokey!

The texture is soft. No real bite. Although, if you stir fry firm tofu it does develop a slightly chewy 'rind' which is OK.

Have a quick peek at this:http://www.jamieoliver.com/news-and-features/features/fell-love-tofu/#HG6X1PzShoH5WEsd.97

The time I tried it, it had the consistency of jello but it was in a savory dish. As a result it didn't go over well with me! I think I'm a textural eater, so weird textures don't really jive with me!

My husband adores it though - there's a particular Chinese dish called Mabo Dofu, which is literally tofu in a spicy, red chili type sauce. He often orders it if we are eating at a Chinese restaurant and they have it on their menu.

I have had it on occasion and have found it to be tasteless. How I have found it to take on the taste of whatever you were cooking it with.

I like it but it needs to be prepared correctly.