Black pasta

how is the quest coming?
Its funny. I was about to post an update! I didn't yet try the charcoal idea from @Berties but I tried just about everything else. If you are into grey pasta, I'm now an expert....
However, I was going to post because someone has beaten me to it. Quite by chance I found and ordered this from Ocado. Its made from black beans which is one of my ideas and which I tried out. However, this is made entirely from black beans (no flour), hence the black, rather than grey colour. Arguably its not really pasta! Its a Swedish product and is called
A La Eco Black Bean Spaghetti. Anyway, I bought some as it was on offer for £1,99. I'll report back on whether it tastes anything like pasta.

291934011_0_640x640.jpg

Cooked the black bean pasta last night. On closer inspection it is actually made in china but marketed by a Swedish company. There seem to be other black bean pastas from China available on the internet (and no doubt in China Town).

They tasted good with a bit of bite. A bit 'nuttier' tasting than white pasta. But they didn't hold their colour like squid ink pasta. They went a sort of brownish colour. I did them with crab, spring onions and chilli. Coriander sprinkled on top.

Just seen Rick steins new TV programme Venice to Istanbul and he had a cuttle fish risotto in Croatia and his teeth was a black as night so then masked it with a local red wine......that's a hard job if I've ever seen one

I saw somne black pasta in Lidls a couple of years ago, it was a special Halloween one :D, and then I saw it had squid ink in it and though yuck! (I'm vegan) so would love to try and make some vegan friendls black pasta for this Halloween. Has anyone tried just adding black food colouring or does that not work? Here is some vegan friendly colouring from Lakeland http://www.lakeland.co.uk/16951/Black-Food-Colouring
Might try making some pasta from scratch and using it! :)