Do you ever make vegan meals?

caseydog

Legendary Member
Joined
25 Aug 2019
Local time
7:31 PM
Messages
8,819
Location
Dallas, TX
Yeah Hindu vegetarians & vegans often don't eat alliums, it's a requirement for the Brahmin ( priest class). Hindus from other classes do often eat alliums, but not always.

They use asafoetida instead

One of my little things I enjoy doing during the season of Lent is to eat pork every Friday. That way, I am breaking Catholic, Jewish and Islamic rules all with one meal. I'm such a smarta$$. :whistling:

CD
 

Morning Glory

Obsessive cook
Staff member
Joined
19 Apr 2015
Local time
1:31 AM
Messages
40,763
Location
Maidstone, Kent, UK
I don't think it's as obvious as you believe it to be. Sugar can contain bone char which I'm sure can be problematic considering the amount of products that contain sugar. Sugarcane I'm referring to.

Fair enough. Yes there are 'hidden' processes in some foods which might seem vegan. My point was that the rule is a simple one. Unravelling the processes and ingredients of pre-made products is sometimes not so easy.
 

Mountain Cat

Veteran
Joined
12 Apr 2019
Local time
8:31 PM
Messages
2,655
Location
Hilltowns of Massachusetts
Website
goatsandgreens.wordpress.com
Ovo-tarian (vegetarian who eats only eggs)
Lacto-tarian (vegetarian who uses dairy but not cheese or eggs)
Flexigan (part time vegan)
Flexitarian (part time vegetarian)
Pesco-tarian (someone who eats fish and is vegetarian)
Pollo-tarian (someone who eats chicken and is vegetarian)
Vegetarian (someone who eats dairy, eggs and milk but no meat or fish)
Veggan (someone who is vegan and eats eggs)
Seagan (someone who eats fish but is otherwise vegan)
Vegan (someone who abstains from all animal products)
And beegan or began- will eat honey or bee pollen but no other animal products.
 
Last edited:
Top Bottom